DAP Accreditation Standards are:

  • Outcome focused
  • Directed at the operational level
  • Goal statements of best practice
  • Directive not prescriptive
  • Identify mandatory requirements

 Medical Peer Review Communication

(June 19, 2017)

Username: Password:

Accreditation Standards Pulmonary Function


Diagnostic Accreditation Program accreditation standards are evidence-based, outcome-focused and aligned to the principles of continuous quality improvement.  The accreditation standards are comprehensive and address the medical, technical and management aspects of service delivery.
The  DAP Pulmonary Function Accreditation Standards  have been developed through a collaborative, consultative and consensus building process that involved advisory committees, health professionals and organizations, academics, health authorities (public) and private facilities.  The accreditation standards are regularly reviewed and updated to ensure they are relevant, applicable and are reflective of current best practices.
As a result of feedback from experts in the field and review by the DAP Advisory Committees, the 2015 version of the Pulmonary Function Accreditation Standards has been revised.  The Diagnostic Accreditation Program Committee approved the revisions on September 7, 2016.  These standards are effective for all new facilities/services on November 1, 2016 and will be used for the assessment of existing Pulmonary Function facilities commencing September 2017. 
All Standards applicable to Pulmonary Function facilities/services are listed here for convenience.



2015 Pulmonary Function Accreditation Standards Version 1.2

(effective May 3, 2017)


 Medical Peer Review Template (PF)


 Medical Peer Review Annual Summary Template  


2015 Pulmonary Function Standards Revision Record - 2017-05-03


2015 Pulmonary Function Standards Revision Record - 2016-09-07


 Highlights of the DAP Pulmonary Function Accreditation Standards


Spirometry QC Program