DAP Accreditation Standards are:

  • Outcome focused
  • Directed at the operational level
  • Goal statements of best practice
  • Directive not prescriptive
  • Identify mandatory requirements


Username: Password:

Accreditation Standards Diagnostic Imaging

Diagnostic Accreditation Program accreditation standards are evidence-based, outcome-focused and aligned to the principles of continuous quality improvement.  The accreditation standards are comprehensive and address the medical, technical and management aspects of service delivery.


The  DAP Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Standards have been developed through a collaborative, consultative and consensus building process that involved advisory committees, health professionals and organizations, academics, health authorities (public) and private facilities.  The accreditation standards are regularly reviewed and updated to ensure they are relevant, applicable and are reflective of current best practices.


The 2014 Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Standards, released in February 2015, have been reviewed and accredited by the International Society for Quality in Health Care (ISQua).


As a result of feedback from experts in the field and review by the DAP Advisory Committees, the 2014 version of the Diagnostic Imaging standards has been revised.  The Diagnostic Accreditation Program Committee approved the revisions on September 7, 2016.  These standards are effective for all new facilities/services on November 1, 2016 and will be used for the assessment of existing Diagnostic Imaging facilities commencing September 2017. 


All Standards applicable to Diagnostic Imaging facilities/services are listed here for convenience.


2014 Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Standards Version 1.3

(effective September 7, 2016)


2014 DI Standards Revision Record - 2016-11-01


2014 DI Standards Revision Record - 2015-10-01